Massively boring post where I'm just going to whinge about being injured really...
So I decided to really try and concentrate on training over the past couple of weeks. Managed the start of last week and then had about 4 days off over the bank hols weekend. So I hit it hard again on Tues with a 3 mile run swiftly followed by a 45 min spin class (after which my arms hurt - clearly!). Then on Weds I decided I should do a 9 and a half mile run. O.M.G...
How am I going to run 13 miles in 2 and a half weeks? Yesterday I felt like I had been hit by a truck.
I think I may have pulled or torn a muscle in my thigh when spinning, it was niggling a bit then and I could feel it as I set off on my long run. But by the end of the run I was kind of limp running and definitely feeling done in. My shins and calves were sore and tight (in that order). On top of all of this I had trapped a nerve or something in my neck on the shower on Weds morning (whilst vigourously shampooing it seems) and so I probably wasn't in the best of shapes to go out and run that distance and by the end of the run I knew this was definitely the case. After doing some stretches and taking off my trainers and bloody sock (oh yeah I got a blister too) and icing my leg for 10 minutes I had to walk to Sainsburys and buy protein and deep heat spray. Magic spray as it should be called.
So I ate, "sprayed up" and went to bed. And yesterday every bit of me was aching, I really have never felt that bad I'm sure.
However it is usually so much worse the day after that, i.e today. But... magic spray appears to have worked and I'm alright. Ok I still ache a little but nothing like I was expecting.
The upside of this is I can probably get out for a 4 mile run tomorrow morning... and try out my new trainers (hoping they will sort out the shins and the blisters etc...). The downside of this is I can probably get out for a 4 mile run again tomorrow and I'm going to have to attempt another long run over the weekend too. (I should by now be comfortably running 8 miles apparently!) Ha ha ha. Well it's that or cry. Or give up... I don't think so.
No comments:
Post a Comment